Keeping up my fitness motivation

In January, I wrote about ‘the harsh realities of getting fit again’ when I first introduced exercise back into my daily routine. Since then, I’ve been working really hard to make sure that every week I’m either running, doing HIIT or going for a walk. But after a few month of exercise, it’s safe to say my motivation has been flagging slightly. This is mainly because I’ve found that my progress has stagnated and I’m not entirely sure that I’m reaching the body shape that I was hoping for. So I just wanted to share a few tips that have helped me stay motivated, especially over the last few weeks.

IMG_1916

Shake up your routine
There is nothing worse (for me) than doing the same fitness regime day in and day out. It gets a bit monotonous and can then often feel like a chore, none of which are ideal. So I’ve been trying to change my routine slightly. I was running three or more times a week, but now I’ve started doing quick HIIT sessions in the morning before work and I’ve even started yoga with a few trampolining sessions in between. I’ve found that I’ve started to look forward to them much more than my evening run.

img_1091

Download some new apps
I rely heavily on technology to keep my motivation levels up in fitness. I think it’s because you can physically see what exercises you’ve done, how frequently and how many calories you’ve burnt. In the last few weeks, I’ve become totally obsessed with Fitstar and Fitstar Yoga. I use Fitstar for my quick and intense morning workouts and I’ve been using Fitstar Yoga to help introduce yoga back into my exercise routine. Both sync with my Fitbit so I can easily keep tabs on everything that I’m doing. I’ve also downloaded the ‘Couch to 5K’ running app to help me fall back in love with running so we’ll see how that turns out.

IMG_0167Adapt your eating habits
This is my ultimate weakness because I love good food (as you can probably see from previous blog posts!). I know it’s slightly stating the obvious but I think my eating habits are hindering my progress so I’m not advancing as quickly as I’d like to be. So I’ve been looking to Women’s Health and BBC Good Food for healthier meal suggestions and I’ve also been trying to incorporate more veggie/ vegan meals into my diet (if you’re in Cardiff you should totally visit Milgi to help with your inspiration for this). After trying this out for a few weeks, although I’m a little hungrier than usual, I do have more energy and I’m feeling more positive about me exercise achievements.

Milgi Curry

Go easy on yourself
This one is a tip not to be overlooked. I’m the first to criticise myself when I’m not achieving things as quickly as I’d like to be but stressing out only makes it harder to loose weight. It’s important to remember that things take time and if you’re not reaching the goals that you had hoped to, maybe you should re-evaluate your exercise and diet plan before beating yourself up.

How do you stay motivated with your fitness routine?

15 comments

  1. I find it so hard to incorporate exercise into my routine, once I get it of it it’s so hard to get back on it! Trampolining looks super fun though! Maybe I should try something like this because I hate running so much! x

    1. It’s so hard when you fall out of the habit. I find that’s usually my downfall. But yeah if you mix it up and do things you actually enjoy, it’s much more likely to stick! X

  2. Brilliant post! You’re looking fab and I particularly like the tip about going easy on yourself. There’s no quick fix and on top of that, life does get in the way! Brill post πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you for the lovely comment! x

  3. I was using the Couch to 5K app when I lived in London and started running – it’s so good for easing you in. πŸ™‚ (see you’ve been to the trampoline park – so much fun!!!)

    1. I’ve wanted to try that and get into it but I’m really not sure if I like it!

  4. Love this post! Simple yet effective ways to get healthy! xxx

    1. Thank you for the lovely comment and for checking out my blog x

  5. Loved your fitness regime. Don’t take me wrong but I am most impressed with the plate you served the food in. It looks so Indian, I have so many similar in my kitchen lol πŸ™‚

  6. I’m have a lot of trouble getting back into my fittness after an injury. thanks for sharing your story! I find that making a plan trying to find running groups makes thing easier! have a community to keep you accountable is awesome! and making a plan allows you to feel accomplished just for following it even if you don’t improve much. good luck!

    1. I love that idea, I’ll have to have a look into running groups! You too- thank you for checking out my blog x

  7. It can be so hard to stick to something, keep up the good work! Eating habits are my downfall as well πŸ™‚

    1. It definitely can! I love to eat but like to exercise to counteract it. Plus, the exercising part is pretty enjoyable!

Leave a Reply

