It’s time to get organised

We all know that running a blog can be extremely time consuming, especially if you have a full time job or if you’re a full time student. It can be hard and can sometimes seem impossible to make time for everything including growing your social media network, writing good content, taking photographs and creating a website that you’re happy with. I’ve found that in order for me to keep everything up to a standard that I’m okay with, I really need to get organised. I’m a pretty organised person anyway, so I just wanted to share a few of my tips on how I get everything done.

img_7564

Buy a diary
Buying a separate diary just for blogging is one of the best things I’ve ever done for myself. It doesn’t need to be anything fancy, just something that can help you to keep track of your days. I use it to mark out blogger events so that I don’t double book and to schedule dates for posts. By seeing everything I’ve got done or knowing that I’ve sorted out my schedule for the week ahead leaves me feeling a lot more relaxed.

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 21.50.11

Schedule social posts
Scheduling social posts saves me so much time and stress. There are just some days where I can’t be on social media all the time posting, so I use Buffer to make sure that there’s always something going out. Usually, I schedule posts around my recent blog articles so that it helps drive traffic into my website without me having to worry about it. Also, for Instagram, I use an app called Planoly which allows me to check how photos will look in my feed. So when I get time, I plan out what will come next in order to keep to my colour theme. This app really is a lifesaver for people looking to improve their Instagram account and plan what’s going to come next.

Brainstorm blog topics
This can be quite difficult because sometimes I won’t know what I want to write about until something sparks my inspiration. But I do try to write down suggestions for blogs and when ideally they should be going up. By taking time to do a little brainstorm, it means that I won’t be left without content to share and I know exactly when everything is due to go live.

Getting Organised

 

Keep a bank of photographs
I did not realise how useful this was until a few months ago. Keeping a bank of photographs means that you are never lacking in content to post on Instagram and can help you to find inspiration for topics to write about. I keep a bank of photos ranging from beauty products, travel pictures and even selfies on my phone. By having some kept spare, it means you never have to worry about having a day where you’ve got nothing going on and no content to go out.

Set yourself goals
I’m really big on setting goals for myself. Usually I do this for my social media channels. Right now, my goal is to reach 2,000 followers on Twitter by June, so that’s an improvement of around 400 followers in three months. I like to goal set because by giving myself something to aim for, it helps keep me motivated on the days where I feel like I can’t possibly keep everything up anymore.

Check your analytics
I know most people wouldn’t consider this part of getting organised but for me, it is. I use my analytics both on my blog and on my social media channels to check what posts are working and what posts aren’t working as well. For example, I use this a lot on my Twitter when I’m looking at promoting my blog posts or when I brainstorm my blog topics, I look at what posts have been most read. This helps me to plan my content better and will help drive engagement in the long run.

Blogging should be an enjoyable experience. Although it is a lot of work and building a following can take a lot of time and patience, at the end of the day it is you who should be happy with your end product, you don’t have to answer to anyone else. I’ve found that being organised helps me to feel more relaxed in my approach to blogging and having a plan in place has really helped me to grow my following, particularly over the last few months. What are your tips for getting organised?

8 comments

  1. Great tips, I loved reading this 💕

    1. Thank you for the lovely comment

  2. Love it! I’m just starting out and blogging once a week. I can feel so much stress trying to get my blog out in a timely fashion. It’s mostly because of pictures. I love the idea of a photo bank!

    1. Trying to fit everything in can be really stressful and sometimes on certain weeks, you literally can’t. But trying to balance everything in a way that works for you can help you see so many more benefits. The photo bank idea has literally saved my content plan on so many occasions!

  3. I absolutely love those cute little notebooks and agendas. I rely on my agenda so much it’s literally my ‘organizing’ life savior!!!

    xo, JJ

    1. It’s surprising how much all of these little things help!

  4. Great tips! I couldn’t function without a diary! I really need to up my game for organising my blog and posts more frequently x
    Cutepandaa

    1. Thanks for your comment and thanks for reading x

Leave a Reply

