An introduction to Deciem

Self-described as the ‘Abnormal Beauty Company’, Deciem is a brand which I’m sure many of you will have seen a lot of over the last few months whether that’s through social media posts from bloggers or promoted posts. Before this year, I’d never really heard of the brand but they have actually been in operation since 2013.  I know that the brand has been trying to interact with bloggers this year and they recently sent me three products in the post to sample. So I’m going to break down each product and let you know what I thought of them.

Deciem blogger review

Hand ChemistryDeciem Hand Chemistry

The first product I received was a hand cream. As you can tell from my previous blog posts, hand cream is an essential for me and I’m usually quite fussy with them. On first observations, I absolutely loved the hot pink packaging and this makes it so easy to find in the bottom of my bag. However, when I took the product out of the box, the tube only looked half full. I know that I received this as a gift but I think that if I had paid for it, this would have slightly disappointed me. For this 30ml bottle, this product would usually be priced at £8 which I believe is quite a reasonable price for a quality product. It is said to look after the firmness, elasticity and evenness of the skin of your hands, helping its overall appearance. I found that I don’t have to use too much of this product for it to be effective, which I absolutely love. It has a gorgeous smell which reminds me of the flavoured gel pens that I used to buy as a child, which makes me a little nostalgic, I will admit. But despite a cautious start, I found that I enjoyed using this product and it’s certainly one that I would consider purchasing. I think I may have found my cheaper alternative to the Clarins hand cream!

The Ordinary ‘Buffet’ serumDeciem Ordinary Serum

According to the Deciem website, “The name of this formula was inspired by some brands referring to their expensive products offering combinations of these technologies as a “buffet”, distastefully comparing such products to buffets that offer various kinds of food in one sitting.” With a bottle that resembles something you might have found in your chemistry classroom, this 30ml serum is priced at £12.70. On first impressions, I really liked the packaging of this as it really stands out and even manages to look quite attractive when stored on my dresser. It’s specifically targeted towards helping with signs of ageing. As I’m only 22-years-old, I wouldn’t say that this is a particularly high priority for me right now. But I would say that this serum is most definitely my favourite product out of the three that I was sent. I use it before my moisturiser both day and night, and I’ve found that it leaves my skin feeling more hydrated and less oily. I think this one is a winning formula, for sure.

Hylamide Transparent FoundationHylamide Transparent foundation

This product was described to me as an “Instagram filter in a bottle.” It’s designed to make your skin look better on camera whilst also blurring imperfections in real life. Priced at £18 for a 30ml bottle, I can imagine that this product is particularly popular with Deciem customers, particularly with bloggers like myself. It has an opal colour and thin texture and I’ve been using this product after I apply moisturiser but before I apply my foundation, so almost like a primer. I do find that it evens out more pores, making my skin looks more even whilst also helping my make-up to stay on for longer. I’m not sure if it’s better than the MAC primer that I’m currently using but I would 100% order this again as I like to regularly change up my skincare routine.

After using a few of their products, I can understand why Deciem are becoming more popular and gaining incredible reviews, especially in the beauty blogger community. Not only are their products effective at doing the job but they are also pretty Instagram-worthy. I think they’re clearly establishing themselves as a mid-range beauty brand, appealing to consumers who want something that’s attractive yet does the job. I really want to try more products from the range as it’s clear from their website that they have a lot more to offer. But for now, I’m so thrilled that I’ve had the chance to try a few of their products. Have you tried anything from Deciem yet?

*Although these products were sent to me as a blogger PR sample, all opinions are my own and I would never promote products that I do not believe in.

 

 

5 comments

  1. I’ve never heard of this brand. It does look like they have some good products

    1. I hadn’t heard of it until recently! I think they’re worth checking out x

  2. Not heard of them before, but I’d love to check them out!

    1. Let me know if you do 🙂 x

  3. I love Deciem and have a few of The Ordinary products which I use religiously now. I’m in my 30s and I’m definitley on the slowing down aging train. If you’re thinking of trying out any of their other products, I’ve done a review of some of their vitamin, acid and moistruzing products here https://beyournaturalself.com/2017/06/27/the-ordinary-a-disruptive-beauty-brand-giving-budget-a-chance/ 🙂

Leave a Reply

