It’s okay to not be a morning person

I will put my hands up and say that I am not, nor have I ever really been a morning person. If you meet me before 8am then later in the afternoon, you’ll definitely see a difference. Unfortunately, a lot of things involve early starts and much of society revolves around early starts. I’m talking about early train rides to get to school on time, 9am lectures that you could really do without, store opening times, ‘breakfast’ meetings or meeting friends who generally want to meet early on in the day. I realise that some people thrive when they start their day early, however I am not one of those people.

screen-shot-2017-02-03-at-22-02-25

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that I cannot physically get up and get out of bed. Of course, I’ll probably have about six alarms set but regardless I’ll be up and ready to be wherever I need to be because that’s life and you just get on with it. And you know, I’m a pretty motivated young woman. But I usually have coffee on hand to help give me a little caffeine kick as you could probably tell from my Instagram and I’ll be armed with concealer.

screen-shot-2017-02-03-at-22-07-29

But just because I don’t favour mornings does not mean that I am lazy. In fact, I’m far from it. Being a creative person, most of my inspiration tends to come at night time. I always find myself starting blogs around 11pm because an idea popped out of nowhere and I have to get it down straight away. As I’m writing this blog it’s currently 10pm and I just had to start it now because my creative juices were flowing. But unfortunately, an average person works a nine to five job so they don’t have the freedom or the chance to show their talents when they’re really switched on. I have to say that I’m lucky with what I do because if I have an idea late at night, I’m armed and ready with notes the next day.

screen-shot-2017-02-03-at-22-15-08

But although many jobs and events in life require us to be 100% present in the mornings, it’s okay if you’re not a morning person and need a little extra time to prepare yourself for the day maybe paired with a venti latte. I guess you could train yourself to be a morning person but that sounds like incredibly hard work and I don’t think you should ever force yourself to be a certain way. Everyone has best times of the day when they’re most productive and let’s be honest, if we were all the same, everything would switch off at 5pm.

 

One comment

  1. I used to never be a morning person and thought ALL the same things you jotted in this post! I’m not sure what happened but I think working full time turned me into a morning person because now I find that I’m most productive during the morning/afternoon, and then crash come the evening. Weekends are another story 😉 Although I will admit waking up and getting out of bed is still tough any morning LOL

    xo, JJ

Leave a Reply

