My 2017 Travel Goals

It’s a New Year so that obviously means a whole new load of trips to plan for. I’m more of a ‘short-break’ kind of girl with the aim to visit as many places as possible within a year. I have such high hopes for 2017 and I hope that I can visit more destinations than I did in 2016. So here’s a list of a few places that I’m hoping to see this year.

Paris
I’m fully aware that this was mentioned in a blog I wrote many many moons ago about travel destinations on my bucket list but Paris remains a dream location for me which I have yet to visit. It has so many beautiful cityscape views, iconic buildings and of course, French food! I’m hoping to finally book my trip to Paris and visit in April this year with my best friend.

paris-1208274_1280

 

Rome
I visited Rome when I was much younger and unfortunately, I don’t remember it as much as I would like to. One thing that I would ideally like to go back to and see would be the Trevi Fountain. I remember being absolutely mesmerised by it as a child so I’d love to see it once again as an adult. I’m hoping to take a summer trip to Italy and stop off in Rome so if all goes to plan, I’ll be seeing a lot of Southern Italy this year.

italy-1411360_1920

 

Munich
I visited Berlin in 2015 and fell completely in love with the German city. So this year, I’m really hoping to visit Germany once again and explore more of the German culture in a different city, Munich. Ideally, I want to visit around Christmas time so that I can visit the Christmas markets, so this would be more of a festive and more wintery holiday than the others.

town-hall-1530491_1920

 

Edinburgh
I’ve heard positive reviews about Edinburgh more frequently over the last year and the Medieval buildings and evidence of historic culture is really appealing to me. I would love to take a city trip in Great Britain again this year and I think Edinburgh would be the perfect city to visit. Castles and beautiful views? Sign me up.

scotland-1607930_1920

 

Stonehenge
It’s not really a weekend away kind of goalΒ but Stonehenge is one of the places in the UK that I really want to visit and just haven’t got around to seeing yet. An iconic historical sit and it’s only about a two hour drive from where I live so I don’t really have many excuses as to why I shouldn’t visit this year.

ancient-1853396_1920

 

There you have it! Those are the main places I want to visit this year but I’m sure that as the year goes on and things start getting ticked off, I’ll want to do more. Where are you hoping to travel to this year?

26 comments

  1. I feel like we have one mind! HaHa!
    I love a little mini break and exploring other countries’ cultures and traditions.
    I’ve just been to Paris only 2 weeks ago πŸ˜€ My friends and I went for 2 days so didn’t get to see loads but we did what we had planned.
    I went to Rome when I was 21 but actually being in the centre of Rome was done in one day and in crazy ass heat! I would love to go back and take my time soaking up the city sights!
    I’ve never been to Germany, but was saying to my sister the other day that I would love to hit up the Christmas markets over there at the end of this year.

    Stonehenge I would really like to see! I was meant to go 2 summers ago. A friend was getting married nearby and some of us were going to visit it the day before the wedding. Unfortunately, I had some bad news from home and in the end couldn’t make the trip or the wedding.
    Sorry, that’s a long message I’ve left you. It was just nice to see someone with similar interests to me πŸ™‚ Keep an eye on my blog, as I’ll be writing up about my trip to Paris shortly.
    Hope you get to make all these visits.

    1. It’s so lovely to get long comments, don’t apologise! How did you find Paris? Was it worth the hype? I did Rome in the boiling heat and it was HARD.

      I’ll definitely have to check out your Paris blog. Hope you get to travel as much as you want to this year girl x

      1. I really liked it, I need to get my post up about it! We stayed in an Air BnB and got to feel really french being hidden down the little side streets. Walking down the road in the little town, everyone seemed so sophisticated πŸ™‚ I don’t know whether that’s just Paris, or a capital city type of thing!

  2. effieisbored · · Reply

    Come to Edinburgh in August but book in advance. This is the same time as the Edinburgh Fringe Festival which is an arts festival. It’s an amazing time! Lots of drama, comedy, art, dancing and performances going on all over the city! If you need any help with what to get up to in Edinburgh then just ask me as I live there and would love to help!

    I visited Rome a few years ago and unfortunately the Trevi Fountain was surrounded by scaffolding and had no water in it. Hopefully it has been reopened for when you visit though.

  3. effieisbored · · Reply

    Sorry for posting again – I have so much I want to say πŸ˜€

    If you visit Stone Henge you should also visit Bath. You’ve got the Roman Baths for the history side of things and the Jane Austen Centre is good too if you are into her writing. It’s about an hour away from Stone Henge. If you end up staying in Bath then you should go for the evening experience at the spa. You get to swim on the roof top pool which has warm thermal waters!

    1. Thank you so much for both of your comments! I visited Bath recently and had no idea it was that close!

      Thanks for the recommendation about Edinburgh, that’s really so helpful. I’m going to need to have a look into it and see if it’s something I can afford but I would really love to go

  4. I went to Rome last year, it was so so so beautiful! Definitely recommend. I would also love to go to Edinburgh. xxx

    1. Thanks so much for the recommendation!

  5. So basically I’m just going to go with you because these are all the places I want to go as well; Paris and Rome especially. They are the two top of my list places as of right now/has been for a while now lol

    xo, JJ

    1. Haha you are more than welcome to be my travel buddy! X

  6. Crutchesoflife · · Reply

    I would love to go to Rome, or anywhere in Italy, it looks so beautiful and I would probably come home 3 stone heavier because of all the yummy food!

    1. Yeah when I visited previously all I ate was pasta and pizza! Tasted good but not so great for the scales πŸ˜‚

  7. Edinburgh is high up on my list of places to go this year! Can’t believe I never been before. Also, hoping to get to Paris! I went ages ago when I was younger but would love to go again to explore it more.

    xxx

    1. Ahh I would absolutely love to go! I’ve just booked my trip to Paris so I’m ridiculously excited for that. So many people have said how they fell in love with Paris so I hope I feel the same x

  8. Hey, great post! Just to let you know I’ve nominated you for the Blogger Recognition Award. Feel free to check it out and complete it yourself ☺️x 
https://pippaposts.wordpress.com/2017/01/19/blogger-recognition-award/

    1. That’s so kind, thank you! X

      1. Your welcome! Love your blog so seemed fitting! πŸ˜€ x

  9. I really want to travel more this year too & I love that you’re hoping to explore the UK as much as abroad, there’s so many places near by that I’ve never visited so I’m starting small and will hopefully manage to visit more European cities by summer- I’m desperate to visit Rome and Barcelona after going to Paris a couple of times last year!

    http://taradaniella.com/

    1. Ahh I’d love to go to Barcelona it looks so pretty. I was hoping to go last year but it never happened so maybe next year! I hope you have a wonderful time

  10. Rome is absolutely incredible, possibly one of my all time favourite places I’ve been in Europe. Behind Barcelona. Barcelona will always top my list of favourite international europian cities for sure!!!

    Melissa
    http://www.melissa-lou.com

  11. That’s very true about Stonehenge… it’s one of many places on my doorstep I’ve yet to visit – hoping to change that in 2017 too.

    Love Paris and Rome, look forward to reading about your experiences.

  12. Paris is amazing! You will seriously fall in love with that city! Shout if you need any tips! We’ve been twice and we would go every year if we could πŸ™‚

    1. I really hope I do! Thanks very much x

  13. Love this list!! I’ll be going to Paris with my best friend in May! You’ll have to do a post about what you guys do πŸ™‚

    1. I will, absolutely ☺

  14. […] I mentioned in a recent blog post, Paris was on my list of places that I hoped to visit in 2017. Well, I actually managed to book the […]

Leave a Reply

