A gingerbread house: the making of

Call me a child but this year I really wanted to put together a gingerbread house. This is another little task that I’ve had yet to do, so I guess that 2016 has been a year of a few firsts for me. So my boyfriend and I bought a gingerbread house-making kit from Tesco for under a fiver – absolute bargain.

img_7942

Last weekend, we decided to put it together so it was ready for when my boyfriend’s cousins came to visit. The kit came with everything we needed to create a festive gingerbread house including the house walls, a base, icing and sweet decorations. There were instructions on the back of the box so really the whole process couldn’t have been more simple.

img_7951

We started by putting the house into the base. This meant lining the base with icing and lining the edges of the walls also. The icing acts as a sort of glue to keep the whole structure together so before you start sticking it, the icing needs to reach room temperature in order to be effective. Once all of the sides were connected, we then had to wait 15 minutes for the icing to set and bind the structure together.

img_7958

But then came the really fun part, decorating! First of all, let me say that I haven’t used icing to decorate anything in a seriously long time but this was SO much fun. We followed the lines on the gingerbread house to draw in the windows and doors but then we got a little creative and just started sticking sweets everywhere. Personally, decorating the roof was my favourite part.

Tesco gingerbread house

If you have young relatives or if you’re generally just a kid at heart, this is such a great activity to do and tastes pretty delicious too. Happy decorating!

Tesco gingerbread house

 

 

13 comments

  1. That is so awesome- and totally not childish, in my 27 years I still haven’t put together a gingerbread house and it still is on my list of things to do! Yours came out so cute, did you get the eat it after?

    xo, JJ

    1. Aw thanks for your lovely comment. You should definitely do it, it was so much fun. And it tasted fantastic after, but I had to have restraint not to eat the whole thing x

  2. So fun…it has been forever since I’ve done this! Maybe a good project for the Christmas weekend. Happy holidays!

    1. It’ll be great to help get you into the festive spirit! Thank you, have a wonderful Christmas

  3. I love gingerbread houses! That is so cute! Merry Christmas! xx

    1. Thanks so much! Merry Christmas to you too, lovely xx

  4. I adore making these! πŸ’– I don’t like Gingerbread though but it’s sure fun putting it together and decorating! This reminds me of the ghost train I brought at Halloween, already made and a base to build it, perfect 😊

    Gemma | http://www.anoceanglimmer.wordpress.com

    1. In fairness, decorating was the best part! Ginger isn’t my favourite but I’ll eat it if it’s there. Thanks for commenting! x

      1. Yees! Of course, I love decorating making it your own

      2. It is super fun! Hope you had a lovely Christmas x

      3. I always seem to make a mess though… oops, I did thank you lovely!

  5. It’s so cute!! And it turned out so neat as well ☺️ I think that I would get seriously hung up on making it look perfect that I just wouldn’t enjoy it πŸ˜… Decorating does look super fun though! Love the shade of your nails as well! πŸ’• xxx

    1. THanks girl, such a lovely comment x

Leave a Reply

