A day in Lake Bled

In a recent blog post, I wrote about how I took a trip to Ljubljana with my brother. And while I was there, I knew I absolutely had to visit Lake Bled as it was only 40 minutes away by car.

I’ve been looking at Lake Bled for quite a while now. If you’ve ever visited any of the lakes in Italy, you’d understand why I now have an obsession with visiting similar lakes in other countries.  If I thought Slovenia was an absolutely stunning country before, then Lake Bled really confirmed it for me.

Lake Bled Slovenia

Based in the town of Bled, the lake has a length of 2km and the scenery is completely picturesque. With an island based in the middle of lake which holds a church that experiences a number of visitors ever day, Lake Bled is a place unlike any other that I’ve visited in the last few years. Obviously to get onto this island, visitors have to be transported by a boat whether it’s electrical or an old school wooden boat. We didn’t go to the island ourselves, but it looked so fantastic and I think it would be such a wonderful experience when visiting.

img_7788

The whole town of Bled was completely relaxing and beautiful. Being in the countryside in a place like Bled made you appreciate the mountain views and simple things like taking in the fresh air. Bled is quite a quiet town, so it’s definitely a place to visit if you’re looking for somewhere to go where you can just completely chill out and get away from the everyday busyness.

Lake Bled Slovenia

img_7793

And of course, apparently you can’t visit Lake Bled without having a cream cake. Although I have dairy intolerances and couldn’t finish the whole thing, I will admit I did have a few bites just to taste and it made me sad that I can’t really eat dairy because I would have loved to have eaten it all. But if you do visit, make sure you order one for yourselves. And yes, they are enormous.

img_7792

I would really recommend a visit to Lake Bled. Even in the colder winter months, it was a very beautiful place and being there for just a few hours made me feel ridiculously relaxed. I can imagine in the summer months it would be even more breathtaking but I’d happily settle for visiting in the winter again.

Bled Castle Slovenia

 

10 comments

  1. It looks so beautiful and I love your photos ☺️ I love taking a day trip to a different town or city when I’m away somewhere. It looks so peaceful, like somewhere you could really relax after lots of exploring in Ljubljana! xx

    1. aww thank you lovely! It was almost like walking into a beautiful film set. I absolutely adored Lake Bled and would recommend it to anyone x

  2. It looks so tranquil and a beautiful day for photos (… I love cream cakes!)

    1. Oh my gosh, the lighting was so perfect for photos so that made me really happy! A truly beautiful place though. The cream cakes were so delicious, I was gutted that I couldn’t have a whole one to myself!

  3. aysemerved · · Reply

    Great post, it’s looks beautiful and the photography is amazing! X

    1. That’s such a nice comment, thank you lovely xx

  4. Beautiful photos! I went to Lake Bled last year I loved it there 🙂

    1. Aww thank you lovely! It’s such a wonderful place! Did you visit in summer or winter?

      1. I went in the summer it was amazing. Went for a swim and had such a relaxing day. I think it would also be beautiful in the Winter when it snows.

      2. That sounds so lovely! I noticed they had areas set up for swimming so that would be amazing in the summer. Totally with you on that, I saw pictures of the lake covered in snow and it looks incredible

Leave a Reply

