City break in Ljubljana

Okay guys, so this December, I decided to take a winter break to the capital of Slovenia, Ljubljana, with my brother for a four day trip. This was my third mini break *holiday* of the year. Even to me, that sounds a little crazy considering I have a full time job and a slight obsession with spending money. But I managed to do it. Let me tell you all about it.

A pretty difficult city to pronounce and a country that I didn’t really know much about, my visit to Ljubljana was very much a spur of the moment decision after seeing a deal on Secret Escapes. One of my major goals for my 20s is to visit all of the main cities in Europe so this was just another to tick off my bucket list.

Ljub

Quite a small and relatively quiet city, you could easily cover the length of Ljubljana in a day. Considering the cities I’ve visited over the last 3 years, this was quite a weird phenomenon for me. But what really got me about this city was how beautiful it was. With a castle built on the top of a mountain overlooking the city and Austrian inspired architecture, Ljubljana was definitely pretty to look at.

Ljubljana city

On the first day, we braved the walk up the mountain to visit Ljubljana castle. This really isn’t a walk for people who hate heights or hate very steep hills. At some points, it felt like we were walking at a 90 degree angle which was extremely painful on my currently out of shape legs. But when we got to the top, the view over the city was incredible. Even if you’re not majorly into castles, I’d probably recommend doing the walk just to see the view.

Ljubljana

Most of the castle was free to enter but there were a few places that required a ticket which cost €7 including a viewing tower over the city and a museum of puppets. For a lot of people, I don’t think it would be worth paying that money for what we actually saw. I don’t think the cost was really justified but that’s just my opinion. However, the castle was kept in wonderful condition and had a coffee shop and restaurant on site which was fantastic news for us after the long walk up.

Ljubljana castle

One of the things I absolutely loved about this trip was that when we visited, the Christmas market was in full swing with beautiful Christmas lights decorating the city. At night time, this all really came to life and it was a wonderful experience to help get you into the festive spirit, although I’m feeling pretty festive right now anyway!

Ljubljana in December

img_7812

From what I experienced, I don’t think Ljubljana is as busy or full of things to do as other European cities I’ve visited. However, I would recommend visiting the city just for a weekend visit if you can, just to see how beautiful it really is. This wasn’t an expensive trip so we were really lucky. In comparison to other major European cities, the food, drink and travel was really reasonably priced so if you’re looking for a cheap city break, this should be one on your list of considerations!

 

11 comments

  1. Ljubljana has been on my list for a while now – it looks so pretty!

    1. It was really pretty. Worth going to visit for a few days because it’s so different x

  2. […] a recent blog post, I wrote about how I took a trip to Ljubljana with my brother. And while I was there, I knew I absolutely had to visit Lake Bled as it was only […]

  3. It looks really beautiful and like a breath of fresh air! I feel like everyone always thinks of Prague or Paris etc. for their city breaks but this is such a nice change from the usual! The Christmas market looks so sweet and festive as well ☺️ xx

    1. It was a much quieter city alternative but I really loved it. I thought it was perfect for a winter break but you’re so right, people usually go for similar cities

  4. It is such a beautiful place!! Never thought it could be so picturesque😍

    1. Thank you! Yeah it was completely stunning

  5. Looks like you had a good time – I like your photos. We went to the puppet museum, and it was great!

    Gavin

    1. it was really good and very different!

  6. I’m not used to posts about Slovenia so this was quite a surprise for me. I’m glad you liked it ! But yeah, Slovenia is a small country and the capital is not as big as other European cities 😊

    1. I didn’t think it was as touristy as other European cities so I thought that was great. It was such a great city and I absolutely fell in love with Lake Bled too x

Leave a Reply

