Escape Rooms Cardiff

I am always on the lookout for new and fun things to do in Cardiff. I guess you could say I get bored easily, in fact, I’m pretty sure most of my friends would say that about me. I’ve never really been the type of person to sit down and do nothing.  And this week, I got invited to go to Escape Rooms Cardiff so this suited me perfectly.

Escape Rooms Cardiff

For those of you who haven’t heard of Escape Rooms before, it’s a real-life escape game where you have to solve a puzzle in order to escape from the room you are in. These rooms are themed, all having varying levels of difficulty and the promise that no two puzzles will be the same. Escape-the-room games have been a growing trend across the UK in the last few years and I am pleased to say that we have a few options here in Cardiff.

When I booked my game for 5 players, we decided to opt for the Heist, despite being warned that it was the toughest game that they had to offer. They don’t usually recommend this game to newbies as I’m sure it could put many people off but I thought, my friends and I like a challenge so we’ll take it on.

img_7705

When we first gathered in the lounge area, we were run through the health and safety tips and the rules of what is actually included in the game and what’s not, like fire alarms and light switches etc. And they also had some pretty awesome sweets to greet us with – it’s all about the little touches!

Escape Rooms Cardiff

We were then taken into our room. The story behind the Heist is “You’ve broken into a museum to steal their prize possession. During the break in, you get trapped and are divided. You will have to work together, to solve the clues from the gallery and through the laser trap and make off with the goods! It’s tricky! You’ve got 60 minutes before the police turn up!” 

I’m not going to give any spoilers for the room at all. But as the description says, you are split into two teams with one group being in the ‘office’ of the gallery and one group being in the main part of the ‘art gallery’. Not only do you have to crack the code and get the diamond, but you also have to get your teammates out of the office room. When they said the difficulty rating was a 5, they meant it. If you do get a little stuck, they provide you with some clues which flash up on a screen but don’t think this made the game easy because it didn’t.

We were told that the Heist only has a 30% escape rate but we were feeling pretty confident. There were 5 of us so we thought, between us we’ll figure it out, right? And we actually did! We managed to break out of the room with under 10 clues and we had 5 minutes to spare – I was super impressed with my team!

Escape Rooms Cardiff

When we finished our room, we were then given the chance to try out a final game – think Crystal Maze style. We were put in a glass box where we had to grab as much of the gold and silver paper as possible. Then at the end, the amount of paper that we had was weighed and scored. Doesn’t sound too bad? Insert some wind turbines into the equation and the whole task becomes significantly more difficult. I think we averaged about 3.1g each which we were told isn’t a bad score. If we’re top of the leader board at the end of the month after all the other groups compete, we’ll get to win a prize. So maybe follow me on Twitter to see how that one turns out.

Escape Rooms Cardiff

Honestly, the Escape Rooms games are such a good idea. Not only is it an intense hour where you’re not allowed your phones to help you solve problems (madness for modern day life, I know), but it also means that you really have to work together with your team otherwise you haven’t really got a chance. And it’s something completely different to do with your friends, family or even work team. After we escaped, we were super pumped. It was a really great feeling and I already want to go back and try another room! Have you visited yet?

 

 

4 comments

  1. I’ve been to these escape rooms – thought they were absolutely amazing! I did “The Heist” as well it was fab. Great post ❤

    1. Aww how did you get on when you did it? X

      1. We got out with about 2 minutes to spare 😊 x

      2. Ahh sounds awesome 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

