Breakfast at Tiffany’s on stage

Breakfast at Tiffany’s is one of my favourite films in the whole world. I’ve seen it a million times. I’ve also read the classic novel by Truman Capote more times than I can even count. So when the opportunity came to see the play adaptation in the New Theatre in Cardiff, I couldn’t have bought my tickets fast enough.

New Theatre Cardiff

Starring Georgia May Foote as the captivating Holly Golightly, the play was engaging and well performed for the whole of the two hour show. With the play narrated by the character of Fred, we were guided through his flashback of the time period where he came into contact with the evasive Miss Golightly. And of course, we watch him love her unconditionally and were completely unsure of her feelings towards him.

Tiffany's on stage

I don’t believe the character of Fred was as likeable in the play as it was in the Hollywood movie and although Matt Barber acted out the role perfectly, the character was awkward to watch at times. I thought Georgia May Foote really stood out in her role as Holly Golightly and it was hard to take your eyes off her when she was in a scene. Plus, her version of ‘Moon River’ sounded gorgeous, so that was an added bonus.

However, what really stole the show was a cat named Bob who played the role of ‘Cat’. He was so well-behaved that first of all, I thought it was a stuffed toy cat. But no, Bob was originally a rescue cat but is now arguably the star of Tiffany’s on Stage. His timing was perfect and he was so adorable that I really could have taken him home!

The whole cast performed splendidly and this was a great venue to watch such a classic story unfold. I’ve never visited the New Theatre before and it was such a treat to be able to visit. I’d recommend visiting if a show that you’re interested in comes to town, particularly for a special occasion.

16 comments

  1. This sounds absolutely incredible! I’d absolutely love to see Breakfast at Tiffanys on stage! X

    1. It was really good – I’d recommend it to any Tiffany’s fans!

  2. This looks amazing! I’m a huge theatre junkie, huge. And love reading on anything theatre so this was great! x

    1. I’ve never really been to a play before so I was nervous about writing about the whole experience so thanks so much for your comment! x

      1. Don’t be nervous, it’s such a different experience for everyone which is the great thing about it! x

      2. That’s such a great way to look at – thank you x

  3. I have wanted to watch this on stage for soooo long!x

    1. It’s worth going to see!

  4. I knew Pixie Lott was starring in the London version but I had no idea it was on in Cardiff – I would have loved to have seen it!

    1. I think when they started touring around the UK, Georgia May Foote took over. It was so good, well worth watching!

  5. I went to see Breakfast at Tiffany’s when it came to Brighton! It was really good and totally agree that the cat stole the show! He was soo cute πŸ™‚

    1. Aww I’m glad to chat to someone who agrees! The cat was amazing

  6. Soo jealous you got to see this! I always loved the film (though have never read the book!) – Bob the cat sounds amazing too!

    1. If it comes on tour again it’s well worth going to see. Thanks for reading my blog!

  7. Sounds like such a fun time! I’m laughing about the fact that you say the cat stole the show! A true actor right there. (:

    Single Vegas Girl
    http://singlevegasgirl.blogspot.com

    1. Haha honestly he was so well trained it was insane. Thanks for checking out my blog

Leave a Reply

