Museums in Amsterdam

In my previous two blog posts, I’ve been talking about my recent trip to Amsterdam with my boyfriend. There’s so many things to see and do in Amsterdam that I wanted to break it all down into a series of three blogs. In this final addition, I wanted to talk to you about the museums on offer in Amsterdam.

Sex Museum
I had to start with this one. Amsterdam is well known for its’ history of the ‘Red Light District’ and the appeal of sex. So of course, we visited the sex museum to see what it had to offer. It wasn’t an overly large museum and we were only charged €4 each for entry. However, what I thought was interesting was the images that they had on display couples dated all the way back to the 1900s. This and all of the old phallic objects that they had on show were quite surprising. And they even had a little section on the iconic Marilyn Monroe. Worth a visit and great if you’re on a budget.

Amsterdam Sex Museum

The Anne Frank House
As soon as we had booked our trip to Amsterdam, I knew that I just had to see the Anne Frank house. I’m a big history fan and read her diary when I was much younger but her story has always stuck with me. When you visit, you are taken into the secret annexe where the Frank family and their friends were hiding. It’s a very surreal experience and it’s hard to imagine ever being in a similar position. If you are looking to go, I’d recommend booking tickets online first as those who haven’t pre-booked have to queue up in the late afternoon and are not guaranteed entry.

Anne Frank House Amsterdam

The Tulip Museum
I know this one sounds pretty boring, but hear me out. Based across the canal from the Anne Frank House, the Tulip Museum looks at the history of the tulip in the Netherlands. It basically shows you how valuable tulips used to be in the country and how they became a symbol of wealth. It was pretty interesting and had a shop front which sold beautiful items so even if you don’t visit the museum, the shop is well worth a look.

The Rijksmuseum
This was quite an expensive museum with tickets priced at €17.50 each, but I can understand why. The Rijksmuseum is full of hundreds of pieces of stunning artworks from the 1600s onwards and also includes works of art from the famous Rembrandt. One of my favourite parts in this museum was the miniature figures on display, items which used to be collected by Amsterdam’s most wealthy. This is a great museum and you can spend hours looking around, but it is a little pricey.

Rijksmuseum Amsterdam

Coster Diamond House
Okay, not quite a museum but we visited the Coster Diamond House which was right next to the actual diamond museum. This was a free experience and all we had to do was register on the door. We had the chance to go in and see diamond getting shaped and cleaned and had a look at the expensive diamonds made by Coster. This was such a cheap and fun experience so definitely worth it, especially if you’re stuck for something to do on a rainy day.

There were so many more museums that we could have visited during our stay, but obviously we had other things that we wanted to see and sometimes the museums could be pretty expensive. I’d recommend picking a handful that you really couldn’t miss seeing and go from there. It’s great to have something like this planned in case the weather is a bit damp.

 

9 comments

  1. This is such a nice idea for a post! The Tulip Museum sounds so sweet and quaint – I wish I have known about it when I was in Amsterdam! x

    1. We found out about it from one of our travel books! It was only a small place but was something different to visit x

  2. aysemerved · · Reply

    Loved this post so much!! I defo want to read Anne Franks diary! And that tulip museum would be my dream to visit as i love flowers SO much! X

    1. Thanks so much for your comment. The diary is worth reading but very very sad. If you go to Amsterdam you should definitely visit x

  3. I’m hopefully going this visit this summer! I can’t wait, these all look like great places to visit 🙂

    http://www.harrietday.com/

    1. I would recommend this city to anyone. Thanks for checking out my blog!

      1. No worries, would be great if you could check out mine here http://www.harrietday.com/

  4. effieisbored · · Reply

    I am dying to go to Amsterdam. When I finally get the chance to go I’ll be keeping this post in mind.

    1. I would definitely recommend visiting. Aww thanks lovely, that’s so nice to hear

Leave a Reply

