Amsterdam Food & Drink

In a recent blog post, I mentioned that I visited Amsterdam this month with my boyfriend for our two-year anniversary. In the four days that we visited, we managed to pack in so many things and of course, finding good food venues was at the top of my priorities list. So let me tell you about a few of my favourites.

Amsterdam in November

CAU Restaurant
On our first night, as it was our anniversary my boyfriend and I were on the lookout for a restaurant that would serve us some really great steak. We read some really good reviews online of the CAU Restaurant so we ended up heading there. For us, it was the perfect location to celebrate our anniversary. I ordered a rump steak which was cooked to absolute perfection. However, when they say steak, they honestly do just break out a slab of steak on a plate, nothing else. For our sides, we ordered triple cooked chunky chips and roasted mushrooms. For a steak each, the sides and drinks, this came to about €70 between us which I didn’t think was too bad for the type of meal that we were looking for.

Bakers and Roasters
With a very famous reputation among tourists and locals, Bakers and Roasters is a food venue dedicated specifically to Brunch. Of course, with brunch comes eggs and this is my absolute favourite. The food was reasonably priced considering the size of the portions and we ended up visiting three days in a row and each time I ordered something different off the menu including: Eggs Florentine, the B&R Special and the Kiwi Breakfast. If you visit, they have two based in the city but beware, it can get pretty busy during prime lunch hours.

 

The Butcher
I’m always on the lookout for a fantastic burger and in Amsterdam, the Butcher gave me just that. With burgers cooked directly in front of you, the Butcher offers you a range of options from a veggie burger to lamb options. I ended up ordering the Butcher burger which was a classic beef burger and it’s honestly one of the best burgers I’ve eaten, period.

 

Foodhallen
Similar to the Depot that we have in Cardiff, Foodhallen is an indoor food market which offers food from a wide variety of different local traders. It’s a great place to find a range of good quality food. However, if you order a lot of food, the cost can quickly mount up. We ended up ordering several different dishes but we visited on two occasions so it didn’t seem so costly. It’s a little bit outside of the city centre but well worth the trek.

 

Cafe ‘t Smalle
Based just across the canal from the very famous Anne Frank House, this cafe is one of Amsterdam’s famous brown cafes. It offers a taste of authentic Dutch culture and atmosphere and is renowned for their dark wood interiors and smoke-stained walls. It was a beautiful cafe to sit and try Dutch ales or perhaps drink some wine with a view of the canal. This was one of my favourite places that I visit in terms of cafes in Amsterdam, it was truly beautiful.

Amsterdam has so many fantastic places on offer in terms of food and drink, and this is one of the reasons that I’m so keen to return at some point. This is a great city break for the food and drink lovers, however, prices can get a little expensive for the really good stuff so make sure you’re stocked up on Euros before you visit.

6 comments

  1. I’m heading next month so this was a very useful read! Your photos are great, I just can’t wait to go!

    1. Thanks so much. It’s such a gorgeous city, I’d love to know what you think of it when you get back! x

  2. cheskaaanels · · Reply

    Everything about it is so YUM!!!!! I’m a massive foodie haha. We really want to take a trip to Amsterdam soon so I’ll defo be referring back to this for advise in where to go!!!

    http://Www.mylifeinrosetintedglasses.com

    1. It was fantastic! It’s a brilliant city, I’d definitely recommend going! xx

  3. The food looks delicious 😍😍

    1. Thank you- it was fantastic

Leave a Reply

