Amsterdam in November

I have had this trip booked for most of 2016, but as of this week, I finally got to jet off to Amsterdam with my boyfriend in celebration of our two year anniversary. I’ve wanted to go to Amsterdam for SUCH a long time but it’s been one of those places that has been weirdly overlooked whenever I’m booking a holiday. So I was determined that 2016 would be the year I went and there was no better opportunity to go with my boyfriend. And I can already see myself going back very soon because I think I fell slightly in love with the city.

img_7281

Due to the time of year, Amsterdam was absolutely freezing during our whole stay. I’m talking a hat, gloves, boots, a coat, the whole works. For me, that’s not so bad because you get to dress up warm and feel pretty cosy with coffee/ hot chocolate or if you find a cool cafe, wine. But one of the upsides of visiting in November is that the city is just starting to set up lights and activities in preparation for the festive season so it’s perfect for getting you into the Christmassy spirit.

Amsterdam in November

As soon as we stepped off the plane, we managed to get a train right into the middle of Amsterdam city centre directly from the airport. When we arrived in the main centre, it looked pretty fantastic and slightly breathtaking. All I saw was pretty buildings and beautiful canals. I thought this was just going to be the case for the main part of the city centre, but it really wasn’t. We were based in the Museum Quarter just outside the main part of the city which was around a half hour walk away, and even then the streets were filled with lovely buildings and as you turned corners, every canal was prettier than the last.

Amsterdam canals

Although we were a little walk away from the main attractions in the city centre, there were so many iconic things to visit very near us. Around the corner from our hotel was the Rijksmuseum filled with countless amounts of art, the Van Gogh museum, a diamond factory and one of the awesome I Am Amsterdam signs. Getting a picture at this sign was much harder than you’d imagine – it was constantly filled with tourists like myself trying to get a quick selfie. This was off-peak season for the city so I can’t imagine how busy this hotspot would get in the more tourist heavy months.

Amsterdam Sign

In this block of museums right next to the I Am Amsterdam sign, workers appeared to be setting up and ice rink directly in front of the Rijksmuseum ready for all the Christmas fanatics like myself. I was really sad that it wasn’t ready for use during our visit but never mind, you can’t win them all.

Amsterdam is a hub of wonderful food, interesting museums, classic buildings and of course, it’s filled with many ‘coffee shops’ and features the very famous Red Light District. For me, it’s a place that’s unlike any other city I have visited previously and I am already planning on going back because there was so much to see, so many restaurants to visits and so many more canals to explore.

I didn’t want to pack too much into one blog about this fantastic place, so instead I’ll be featuring a blog on the Amsterdam museums that you can visit and one about the great places to eat and drink in the city for all my foodie followers – both will be featuring on my blog very soon. Have you ever been to Amsterdam before? I’d love to know what you thought!

Amsterdam

11 comments

  1. Hey, I nominated you over on my latest blog post for the Versatile Blogger Award – https://adailydoseofholly.wordpress.com/2016/11/11/the-versatile-blogger-award/
    Hope you have a lovely weekend x

    1. Thank you lovely. Have a great weekend! x

  2. Nice photos! 🙂

  3. This looks like such a beautiful city! The photos are lovely x

    1. Thank you. It was a fantastic city, I’d recommend it

  4. Amsterdam is such a great city with so much to do! I think people don’t give it enough credit for its cultural side, so it’s lovely to read about it ☺️ November sounds like a lovely time to visit – I can imagine it to be even more beautiful with all of those lights! I went a few years ago in August and it was nice having long evenings, but I think it would be super cosy in winter. And getting a photo by the I Am Amsterdam sign is IMPOSSIBLE! Many attempts later, we still couldn’t get one with the entire sign and not be covered up by other tourists haha. Can’t wait to read more of your posts! x

    1. Ahh this is such a great comment, thank you. I just completely fell in love with Amsterdam, I honestly don’t think it gets enough credit for being genuinely just a beautiful city. Thanks so much for reading my blog! xx

  5. You’re welcome! I love coming across new blogs ☺️ Hopefully with posts like this, more and more people will be able to see it for more than what its known for! x

  6. I loved Amsterdam too! We went in September!

    1. It’s such a wonderful city! Thanks for checking out my blog ☺x

Leave a Reply

