Get cosy at 29 Park Place

I have been wanting to write a post about 29 Park Place for quite some time now but whenever I visit, I always seem to forget to take pictures – and you can’t write a blog without pictures! As it’s quite close to my work and I have attended a few events held here, it’s a restaurant that I have visited quite frequently in Cardiff and for good reason.

29 Park Place

One of my favourite things about 29 Park Place is the restaurant theme of quirky interiors which makes it look like a living room decorated by the founders of Urban Outfitters. Not only does it have pretty little fairy lights and comforting arm chairs, but customers also have the luxury of playing on PlayStation games while they drink cocktails or wait for their food to be served. Considering how close this bar is to student-ville or as other people know it, Cathays, this is a pretty clever move on their part. But in all fairness, it’s great to come somewhere that can make you feel cosy but like you’re having a treat at the same time.

I was keen to visit again as they have recently created a new menu with dishes I had yet to try. I pretty much rinsed the last menu of all of their options, so it was nice to come in and have a change. I ended up ordering a dish called ‘not just a salad’ which was a warm salad of asparagus, broccoli, spinach, potatoes, poached egg, peas and parmesan. On this particular occasion, I decided to skip on the parmesan as I’m trying to be really good and avoid the cheese.

29 Park Place

First of all, let me just say that the dish was completely beautiful. I know it’s pretty sad, but in my Instagram led life, I like food to look pretty damn amazing and any restaurant that can serve food that looks good has my vote. Obviously it has to taste good too, and my gosh did these guys deliver! My eggs were cooked to perfection and were gorgeously runny so that they coated all of my veggies in delicious egg yolk. Although it doesn’t look like much, the potatoes made this dish pretty filling. What I liked most about this meal was that although it is a healthier option, the dish had a warming and comforting feel that is pretty great for winter. I already want to eat it again.

29 Park Place

I’ve heard and read so many good things about the new 29 Park Place menu from friends and other food bloggers around Cardiff. I’m so excited to try more of the new menu so I’ll definitely be back again soon. ย Have you visited yet?

One comment

  1. […] that serves cocktails where you can have good drinks with great company. As mentioned in a previous post, 29 Park Place is one of my go-to food and drink venues in Cardiff and this week, I was lucky […]

Leave a Reply

