Eating in London: The Real Greek, Soho

For work, I recently took a trip to London to help with a client event. I wasn’t complaining at all about this as it was a fab event and London is one of my favourite cities in the world. Any chance that I get to go to London, I’m there. When I visited this time, I was on the lookout for a restaurant that was a little different to the food chains that we have in Cardiff. So I visited a little place called, the Real Greek with a friend from work.

London Oxford Street

Located just off Oxford Street right in the middle of Tottenham Court Road and Oxford Circus tube stations, The Real Greek was a perfect location for where I was staying in an apartment nearby. When looking for food options on Apple maps, I wanted to find a place that was different to my usual preferences and Greek food seemed like the perfect option. This brand has nine restaurant locations in London so it seemed like fate that one of them was so close to us.

The Real Greek Soho

The Real Greek Soho

The venue wasn’t massive and appeared to be quite a cosy location, with dim lighting and framed photographs of different shots of Greece. We sat at a little table near the window which made people watching extremely easy and entertaining.

img_6937

As it had been a long day of travelling, we decided to order a 500ml carafe of Makedonikos Rose which I thought was a bargain for Β£13.70 and was definitely well deserved. This wine was gorgeous and is one that I would order again.

The Real Greek Soho

For dinner, we decided to opt for Athenian set menu which was Β£11.95 for three dishes. Two of these dishes were starters and the third was the main meal. As a savoury food lover, this was ideal for me. We ended up splitting the meals as tapas dishes so altogether we ordered: flatbread, cruditΓ©s, houmous and chickpeas to start. This was absolutely delicious and was served in a little food tower which made it even more appealing for me. It reminded me of a Greek style afternoon tea – awesome.

The Real Greek Soho

For mains, we ordered BBQ chicken wings with feta chips and Aegean Prawns. As a person that can’t handle dairy very well, this may have been a slight oversight on my part. But even though there was a lot of cheese, it was so WORTH IT. The prawns were my absolute favourites and although the bowl looks quite small, it was a surprisingly filling dish. The chicken and chips were pretty damn good too.

The Real Greek Soho

By dessert, I had certainly had enough dairy by this point. So I ended up compromising and ordering a mango sorbet. This was quite a refreshing end to the meal and was far from a heavy dessert.

The Real Greek Soho

I thought the Real Greek was pretty awesome and I’d be happy to eat here again when I visit London. The staff were friendly, it was in a great location and the food was well-priced. I think this was a very lucky little find! What are your favourite London restaurants?

 

3 comments

  1. How have I only just found this blog?! I’m kicking myself right now because you blog about all the things I love! x

    1. Thank you lovely,that’s the nicest comment I’ve had all week! I’ll be sure to check out your blog too xx

      1. You’re welcome 😊

Leave a Reply

