Henry’s Cardiff VIP launch

This week, I was lucky enough to be invited to the VIP re-opening event at Henry’s bar to celebrate its brand new revamp and new menu. It’s the first restaurant launch event that I’ve been to so far, so I was really excited and couldn’t wait to see what they had in store for us. It was free to attend and was available between 4-6pm, which was great for those just finishing work and looking for a Thursday afternoon treat.
Henry's Bar Cardiff

As a popular bar based in the heart of the city centre, Henry’s has been a fixture in Cardiff for over 30 years. It’s somewhere that I remember visiting as a child with my family and I remember absolutely loving it but I must admit, I haven’t visited here in several years. This is quite a shameful confession as I actually walk past here everyday on my way to work.

Henry's Bar Cardiff

I was really looking forward to this event as it promised free Prosecco and canapés – that’s always a strong combination to get me excited about an event or venue. So I invited my boyfriend to keep me company and he was more than happy to tag along for the evening and help me take pictures at some points.

When we first arrived, we were greeted with a free glass of Prosecco and an already busy bar so there were pretty positive vibes as soon as we got through the front door. Once we had sat down at our table, we realised that the kitchen were sending out waiters/waitresses with an endless supply of canapé filled trays delivered directly to our table. I thought this was a fantastic idea as it gave visitors the chance to sample new dishes from the menu, letting customers choose their favourites before they even ordered or spent a penny. Altogether we had: chicken skewers, wedges, prawn cocktail, calamari, fish and chips and also a plate of wedges, nachos, chicken wings and scampi. Personally, the chicken skewers, wedges and battered fish were my absolute favourites. And of course, the Prosecco was pretty awesome too.

Over £300,000 is said to have been spent refurbishing the bar and after having a look around, it became pretty clear that Henry’s have aimed to create the rustic, modern look that we all seem to know and love in Cardiff. I am a big fan of the refurbishment and I think they did a fabulous job on organising this event.

I’m really excited that Henry’s has decided to change its look and menu as I feel as though it has breathed a new lease of life into a classic Cardiff bar. We’re so lucky in Cardiff that we now have so many amazing places to eat and drink and as a food lover, this makes me really happy. I will be visiting Henry’s again this weekend with friends to see how the bar performs on its busy opening weekend and I shall be updating you all in another post! Have you visited yet?

 

One comment

  1. […] a recent blog post, I talked about how I was invited to the Henry’s Bar Cardiff VIP launch event where we had the chance to try canapés of food from the new menu and drink some fabulous […]

Leave a Reply

