Tapas at Bar 44

I am a firm believer that cocktails and tapas can make any evening fantastic – it’s honestly such a recipe for success. Perhaps it’s the fact that you have a variety of different foods paired with your favourite drinks or maybe it makes me feel like I’m in Spain. I’m not quite sure. But one of my favourite places in Cardiff for tapas is Bar 44.

With restaurants in Cardiff, Penarth and Cowbridge, you’re never too far from your most local Bar 44 in South Wales. My most frequently visited is the Cardiff city centre branch, mainly because it’s the most convenient one for me to get to.

I recently visited with a few friends and as always to start I ordered my favourite cocktail, a raspberry pina. According to the website, this is made of House vanilla-infused Finlandia vodka, Licor 43, Chambord, fresh raspberries, lemon and pineapple. This is by far one of my favourite drinks on the menu at any bar in Cardiff and anyone that I get to try this perfect cocktail just absolutely falls in love with it. So if you get the chance, order yourself this drink.

Bar 44 raspberry Pina

For my tapas I ordered chorizo, Garbanzos which is crispy spiced chickpeas, tomato and fresh goats’ cheese  and also Croquetas. Unfortunately, I didn’t get chance to take a picture of my Croquetas because they were the last to arrive and I was already digging into my other food. But I can promise that they looked and tasted amazing.

But I have to say, the Garbanzos were my absolute favourite. Usually, this isn’t the type of thing that I would order off a tapas menu but I decided to branch out and give them a try. This is under the vegetarian section of the menu but even if you’re not a veggie and usually eat all meat tapas, give them a try and I promise you will not be disappointed. They were just so tasty and there was quite a lot of the plate which is always a bonus for me.

Bar 44 Garbanzos

And of course, the chorizo was pretty awesome as always. As you can see from my photo if you love chorizo, this dish is for you. It’s just one big platter of chorizo and although it was quite a lot, I probably could have eaten more. Yummers.

Bar 44 chorizo

Bar 44 is a great spot to grab some food, have a few drinks whether it’s for date night, a meal with your friends or even afternoon drinks with your work colleagues. I absolutely adore Bar 44 and it’s one of my favourite places in the city. If you’re looking to try some tapas or some fantastic cocktails then this is the place for you.

fullsizerender

 

 

Leave a Reply

