The best burger in Cardiff

I know the title of this blog is quite a bold statement as there are so many burger places to choose from in Cardiff. But honestly, today I’m writing about Got Beef so I feel like it is quite a fair statement to make and I think a lot of people will agree with me.

Got Beef Cardiff

Based just outside the city centre and next door to my previously highly recommended Society Standard, this is a burger place which has been listed on Wales Online as one of the top 50 places to eat in Cardiff this year. I know this place has been open for quite some time now and I’m almost ashamed to say that I haven’t been here before, especially as I like to think of myself as a bit of a foodie. But what I experienced this evening was something special.

img_6462

I was originally intending on getting a veggie burger as I’m really trying to either convert to being a full time veggie or incorporate more vegetarian/vegan meals into my diet. However, after hearing the specials menu, I really couldn’t resist getting a beef burger. The special on offer this evening was a Pattygonia which was a 6oz burger, chimchurri rump steak, montery cheese (which I didn’t have) with mayo and lettuce. At £8.95, I think this was a bargain, especially looking at the size of the burgers. As I was pretty hungry, I also decided to order myself a side of fries. I guess the healthy eating is out of the window for today but hey, it’s good to have a cheat day every now and then.

Got Beef Cardiff Pattygonia

I very rarely get overly excited about burgers because I usually find that they look and smell better than they actually taste in a lot of places. If you overcook a burger, it’s ruined, full stop. However, I’m a fan of the Grazing Shed in Cardiff but it has honestly got nothing on Got Beef. The burger was so incredibly tasty and the brioche bun made sure that it wasn’t stodgy and didn’t fall apart. It was so tasty that I was still thinking about it hours after I had eaten it – should have ordered a second for the ride home.

Got Beef Cardiff Pattygonia

My plate was completely clean and I would go back here again in a heartbeat. I would love to try the veggie option next time and if I do get around to that, I will definitely write about it as a follow up for you guys!

img_6467

3 comments

  1. […] restaurant also based on Whitchurch Rd only a few doors down from Society Standard and Got Beef which are also featured on my […]

  2. We’ve never been to Cardiff before but we’re always making lists of places to eat around the uk and around the world. This will defo be on the list, can’t deny a good burger! Good choice and thanks for sharing, look forward to hearing about the veggie one of you do go back!

    Jessica & James | foodandbaker.co.uk

    1. It’s worth a visit definitely- we have so many fantastic food places to offer! Thanks for checking out my blog!

Leave a Reply

