Beautiful Bath

I was one very excited girl last weekend as my boyfriend and I were finally getting around to taking a trip to Bath. I have only ever been to this historic city once, and that was on a flying visit. So ever since, I have been really keen to go back and explore more of the town.

One of the main pulls of the city for me is its history. As one of the major cities occupied by the Romans, Bath is primarily known for its Roman Baths which were used as a temple of worship and as a main spring. Of course, because of this, I was really excited to visit the Roman Baths and see the museum that features lots of Roman artefacts.

Bath Roman Baths

So obviously, this was the first place that we visited. Entry to the Roman Baths were £15 per adult and considering that this is such an iconic historical site, I didn’t think that this was overpriced. I wasn’t really sure what to expect at all when I first entered the Baths. I wasn’t previously aware that it held a whole museum with lots of history and Roman artefacts so this was quite a nice surprise. Before we entered the museum, everyone had access to audio guides and many points of the museum were numbered so you could enter that number and press play on the guides for more information at points of interest. The history nerd in me thought this was such a nice touch.

Bath Roman Baths

Our first glimpse at the main spring was from a balcony above. From here, we had a view of the Roman Spring and also Bath cathedral. This was a really pretty beautiful view (and not a bad Instagram shot either). As we went around the museum, we got to see stones from the original structure, Roman coins, tools, culinary objects and it was just all so interesting. What was particularly fascinating to me was seeing all the original structures and plumbing work from the Romans as it all just seemed so ahead of its time.

img_6397

Of course, visiting the Roman spring seemed so surreal. It was hard to imagine how long all of this building had been here and how much it had survived. It’s definitely a site worth visiting.

Although we didn’t go into the Bath Cathedral, it was next on our list of places to see. From outside, it looked so spectacular. I’m sure that when we visit another time, we’ll look around properly but for this particular weekend, it just didn’t happen.

img_6372

We then took a stroll around the town in the afternoon and visited the Circus, which is an example of Georgian architecture in a collection of three buildings in a circular shape. When we visited, there seemed to be a lot of building work going on so I don’t think we could fully appreciate it in the same way.

The Circus Bath

We also managed to see some beautiful scenes of Bath as we crossed bridges over the river. For this, I absolutely had to stop and take a picture.

img_6395

I completely adored Bath. It is a beautiful city and it’s nothing like any other place that I’ve visited yet in the UK. I’m already thinking about going back to visit the Christmas markets! If you haven’t been before, definitely add it onto your places to visit.

Henriette Park Bath

 

5 comments

  1. livilovessite · · Reply

    The Roman Spring looks really nice, can you go into it? 🙂

    1. You can go closer to look around it but they recommend not to touch the water or anything. But it looks very cool 🙂

  2. awww so cute. loved your blog Rachel .. keep writing . 🌼🌼🌸🌸💜

    1. Thank you, that’s such a lovely comment x

  3. […] absolutely love visiting Bath. I know I recently wrote a blog post about another visit but I really do believe that it’s the best UK city that I’ve […]

Leave a comment