The liner switch – Estée Lauder Double Wear liquid liner

For quite some time now, Benefit Magic Ink liquid eyeliner has been my absolute favourite. Unfortunately, when I went to visit their Cardiff counter on Saturday, I was told that this product has now been discontinued – cry, cry. So I ventured off in search for a replacement.

Estee Lauder Double Wear liner

I use eyeliner most days and I expect it to stay on all day once I’ve applied it so I need something that lasts. My first thought was to look on the Chanel counter (mainly because it’s pretty close to the Benefit counter in Boots) but unfortunately, it was a little out of my price range. Then I thought I’d have a look on the trusted Estée Lauder counter. I’m pretty much in love with their Double Wear make-up and as it turns out, they have a Double Wear liquid eyeliner too. Score! After quickly trying it out on my hand, straight to the till I went.

Estee Lauder Double Wear liner

This was quite a hasty decision because it was still pretty pricey at £22, but I have a lot of faith in Estée Lauder after other product successes that I’ve experienced. Unlike the Benefit eyeliner, it isn’t a brush tip but it’s shaped as a superfine felt tip. I know this can make it easier to apply for some but for me, this is still taking some getting used to after years of playing with a super thin brush.

Estee Lauder Double Wear liner

But the product does have some serious pros. Like it says on the packaging, this liner does not smudge. Not even a little bit. It’s a very long wearing product, in fact it looks the same at the end of the day as it does at the start. It’s a very deep black colour, which seriously helps to emphasise my eyes and makes my make-up look more defined. It has quite a matte finish too, which I like as the Benefit liner appeared quite glossy.

image1

Slight con is that sometimes when you go back over a line, it can wipe off some of the product you’ve already applied if it’s not set properly. But if you take your time and allow the liner to fully dry, this doesn’t happen so you pretty much need to have some patience when using this product. Also due to its longevity, the liner can be difficult to take off so make sure you have a good eye make-up remover to hand to get the job done.

Overall, I’m really happy with this product and would definitely buy it again. I’m hoping my liner skills will improve slightly with this easy to use product! Do you have any liquid eyeliners you’d recommend? I’d love to hear about them!

Estee Lauder Double Wear eyeliner

 

 

2 comments

  1. This looks lovely! I’ve been meaning to try out a more expensive eyeliner and I didn’t realise Estée Lauder had one in their double wear range! 😍

    1. It’s definitely worth investing in – one of the best eyeliners I’ve bought so far! Thanks for checking out my blog

Leave a Reply

