I got ‘Only You’ on my lips

I love when Mac bring out their limited edition collections. However, I’m always that girl that gets there a little too late and finds out that the collection is sold out. This particularly broke my heart when their Maleficent range was out (damn it).

IMG_4584

But this time, I was really lucky and managed to get hold of the Ellie Goulding cremesheen lipstick, Only You. I’m a big fan of Ellie so this was a particular win for me. Obviously, as it was a limited edition item, the colour was a little more expensive than the usual cremesheen lipstick and was priced at £17. It’s not much more but it’s just something to note before you take it to the til.

I absolutely love the design of Ellie’s range, with her triangle logo on the outside packing, the tube and on the lipstick bullet itself. It looks so beautiful I almost didn’t even want to open it. But make-up is bought to be used so that idea went quickly out of the window. IMG_4588

I like the Mac cremesheen lipsticks because I think they’re great for the daytime use. The colour hues are pigmented enough that they make a difference to your lip colour without being too bold for your normal everyday make-up routine. Sometimes I like the bold, but sometimes it’s nice to go with the understated cremesheen texture.
However, unlike their matte lipsticks, cremesheen doesn’t tend to stay on for very long, and that’s quite unfortunate and something that I know would put some of my friends off buying products in this range. But I really like the almost glossy finish to cremesheen as an alternative to the sometimes drying matte products.

Only You is described as mid tone coral colour which strays from my typical pinks or reds in my lipstick collection. I absolutely adore the colour of this lipstick and I think it’s an excellent edition to my make-up bag. I think it’s very well pigmented and goes well with my typically pale skin tone. Apart from the lack of longevity, this lipstick is a real winner.

Leave a Reply

