My weekend away in Northamptonshire

I’m always looking for an excuse to get away and have a little bit of an escape from everyday life. And last weekend, it was my one year anniversary with my boyfriend so it was obviously cause for celebration. So we managed to escape for the weekend to Daventry, Northamptonshire. We found a break deal on Groupon at the Daventry Court Hotel for a three course meal with wine included, a two night stay, breakfast and a late checkout. It couldn’t have been more ideal for a romantic weekend away.

We arrived late afternoon on the Friday with an easy check in at our hotel and we were directed upstairs to our room. I was completely surprised how massive the hotel was, with rooms stretching for absolute corridors. Our room was lovely, spacious and we were even greeted with cosy robes. Dinner was booked in for us at our chosen time and we were instantly greeted with a bottle of wine on our table as we were sat down ready for our food. Food at our hotel was fantastic to the point where I was so surprised how nice it was. Usually you’d expect food to be at just an ‘okay’ standard, edible but not really memorable. This definitely wasn’t the case at our hotel. With deals like this, I’d usually expect to be given limited options for our three course dinner but they offered us a range of options for us to choose at our leisure. Fantastic news.

Anniversary at Daventry Court Hotel

Our waitress even recommended a pub for us to try the next night. It was a pub called the Olde Coach House, a pub where apparently it is rumoured that Guy Fawkes planned his plot to blow up Parliament. Food really does make me so happy so it’s obvious that this was one of my high points of the weekend. For starters, I ordered fishcakes which tasted completely fresh made. Although it was quite a small portion, the taste was incredible and is definitely something I need in my life again soon. For my main meal, I had creamy mash, green vegetables and roasted steak. Usually, I’d expect steak in a pub to be nice but perhaps slightly on the chewy side. But, no. I can’t even describe how nice this steak was. However, I will try. Basically, it tasted fresh, juicy and full of flavour and was one of the best steaks I’ve ever experienced in my life. If you’re in the Daventry area, I cannot recommend this pub highly enough. Just look at how amazing this food looks. Even seeing it again makes me hungry.

Olde Coach House Daventry

But our trip wasn’t all just about food. We even managed a little bit of shopping in the Milton Keynes shopping mall and I started a little bit of my Christmas shopping. However, apart from the usual joys of shopping, we even managed a stroll in Daventry Country Park. I love long walks mainly because I like getting a little bit of fresh air and some exercise somewhere different. Walking helps you to let go of any anxieties you might have an according to many studies, it really helps your overall mental health.  And of course, just look at that beautiful scenery.

Daventry Country park

Daventry county park

I had a lovely weekend away and has made me want to try more of the Groupon deals. Daventry was definitely a place I wouldn’t have even heard of, never mind considered for a break if it hadn’t of been for this deal. Have any of you guys found a rare gem that you want to recommend? I’d love to hear if you do!

Leave a Reply

