Using The Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

I love trying new beauty products and I’m always on the lookout for something new to spruce up my make-up bag. And this week, I was searching for new make-up accessories for applying my make-up. Usually, I’m a big fan of the Real Techniques brush range and I tend to use their expert face brush to apply my foundation (and I pretty much have the rest of their collection for everything else!) But recently, I’ve heard lots of good things from friends about the Real Techniques miracle complexion sponge. And at £5.99, I didn’t think it was a pricey product so it was definitely worth a try.

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

This isn’t just a normal, flat make-up sponge. In fact, it has 3 different sides for different areas of your face. It’s recommended that the flat edge of the sponge is used to contour around your nose and eye area. This area is one of the worst areas to use a brush to apply foundation around and I usually struggle with it. It’s very easy for the make-up to look cakey and and sink into all the little lines around your eyes. But with the sponge, I was able to apply my make-up so that it covered my under eye area with just the right amount of foundation. BIG FAN.

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

The side of the sponge is used to apply foundation around the larger areas of the face like you cheeks or your forehead. This was extremely easy to do and the foundation blended very well. I used circular motions with the sponge to do this and it actually felt quite relaxing and smooth.

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

The third, pointed side of the sponge is used to cover imperfections. Usually I would dedicate this side to covering any blemishes I may have but when I was using this product, my skin was pretty much spot free so I feel this side will be better put to use at another time (but hopefully not sometime soon- who wants spots right?).

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

I’ve previously read that these sponges are best used when slightly damp. So, before I start to use this, I quickly brushed the sponge under a cold tap and squeezed out any excess water. By doing this, the make-up seemed to glide over my face smoothly and was actually pretty quick to apply.

Overall, one of the main things that I liked about this product was that unlike many other sponges on the market, the foundation didn’t end up being absorbed by the sponge. Usually, I don’t like sponges very much because I feel like you end up loosing a lot of product, but thankfully, I didn’t feel like this about this sponge. For this reason, I think this little orange sponge is such good value for money. My make-up didn’t appear to sink into my pores in the same way it does with other applicators and it stopped my make-up appearing heavy or looking caked in some areas, leaving me with a much more natural look.

But remember, like any other make-up applicator, this still needs to remain hygienic so you don’t want a build up of all foundation living in here. Don’t forget to wash this sponge after every three uses! I like to wash my brushes and sponges with Boots Baby Shampoo as it is gentle so it doesn’t ruin my applicators, but it also gets the job done!

Using Real Techniques Miracle Complexion SpongeHere is my finished look after using the Miracle Complexion sponge. I definitely feel a lot better about my make-up today. Look out for a MOTD post which will be going out on my blog soon!

2 comments

  1. Elisabeth · · Reply

    I am going to have to try this sponge now!! http://everythingandnothin.com/

  2. I LOVE this sponge!!! ❤ seriously couldn't live without it. Love this post xo

Leave a Reply

