Gone Girl: the Movie

So, it finally happened. Last night, the wait ended and I went to see my most anticipated film of this year. And I’m so pleased to report, it didn’t disappoint.

For those of you who didn’t know, Gone Girl is a crime/drama story masterpiece by Gillian Flynn. I can’t say enough good things about this book and have previously done a review on it (please feel free to take a look).

IMG_0177.JPG

I’m not going to give too much detail because obviously I don’t want to ruin the film for people. All I’ll say mainly is that Gillian Flynn has stayed really close to the structure of the book when creating the screenplay but she has missed out a few key characters/ events. But I think being an avid fan, I was looking for the similarities and differences with close inspection.

Rosamund Pike absolutely stole the show with her portrayal of lead character, Amy Dunn. In my opinion, I think she’s an incredible actress who’s a little bit underrated. Her performance is this film is amazing and I’m sure lots of people will be posting about that in particular. Ben Affleck also portrayed Nick perfectly and came across in a sinister manner similar to the book. But as always, I completely loved the talents of Neill Patrick Harris. He is definitely one of my favourite actors and it was weird to feel completely creeped out by him instead of laughing at him as the wonderful Barney Stinson in HIMYM.

I absolutely loved this film and I NEED to see it again soon to appreciate it even more. It’s had such a hype around the film and I’m so glad that critics didn’t oversell this film. I’m sure lots of bloggers will be giving their opinion of the film after it’s official release this week. I’d love to know what people think after seeing it, so please leave me some comments!

Everyone, go see it now!

IMG_0175-1.JPG

4 comments

  1. Yeah, this movie’s pretty great. And even though it’s not one of Fincher’s best, it’s still one of his most fun, which is something I’m glad to see from somebody so late in his storied-career. Good review Rachel.

    1. Thanks for reading:)

  2. Omg I can’t wait to see this movie. I read the book a couple of weeks ago and it easily became on of my favourites! I’m really excited to see how they incorperated the diary part. Did you read the book as well?

    1. Yeah I have! Its become one of my favourite books at the moment. You’ll love how it’s all done in the film! Please let me know what you think once you’ve watched it:)

Leave a Reply

