Spinning For Cardio


This week I attempted my first spin class. I know, two new classes in one week was extremely brave and potentially disastrous. But I wanted to try spin because I know it’s good for helping you increase your cardio and it’s good resistance exercise for my muscles. Also, I sort of wanted to know if I could actually get through a class because I’ve always associated it with super fit people. 790f4d2dd8ba8f4b0ccc400bdb8de73b

Spin class is basically an indoor class on bikes with a group of other very sweaty humans who are working their butt off. What I loved so much about the class was that the lights went off, disco lights came on and music started blasting. I think people underestimate how much atmosphere can have a really positive effect on your workout. I found that this kept me so motivated and didn’t feel as intense as a lot of other exercise classes ( I absolutely despise circuits and I’ve vowed to never go back).

Throughout the class, you are able to build up your resistance as you go through the exercises of sprint and uphill climbs. This allows people in the class to choose what level they feel comfortable working on. I love this and it didn’t make me feel like I wasn’t working at the same level as everyone else. Obviously though, if you want to get the most out the class, you do need to work on a level that is at least a bit challenging for you. You need to put in effort to get the results you want. It’s a 45 minute class and you’ve got to think that the pain will be over in a really short amount of time but your body will look amazing in the end. I’M STAYING MOTIVATED.

I have to say, this is my favourite class that I’ve ever been to so far. The instructor was so encouraging instead of critical like some instructors in other gyms can be (Don’t they realise that’s not helpful or motivating?) and he seemed to pay so much attention to everyone in the class which was fantastic. It made me feel like I wanted to keep going and I was so pleased that I actually managed to keep up with the rest of the class on my first go. I also loved that it was so different to my usual exercise regime so I will definitely start fitting this into my weekly exercises. If you’re thinking of going to a class, bring a towel. You will sweat.

Image taken from http://www.triteamglos.co.uk/news/ttg-spin-classes

Happy exercising!

4 comments

  1. I felt like I was fit in the beginning of summer, but those summery treats like ice-cream got a hold of me 😀 I’ll start again with going to the fitness with my boyfriend; he’s a great motivator 🙂 Never tried spinning before though! Seems like a really good workout!

    1. It is really good and it’s so enjoyable. Worth a try!

  2. I really like Spin/ RPM class.. even if it does feel like you are going to die/pass out the first few times you go! Thankfully they don’t go for too long!I feel like I have really accomplished something when I have finished a class 🙂

    1. I agree. It’s just such a good class. And a fun way of burning calories

Leave a Reply

