My First Kettlebell Class

This week, my friend suggested we go to a kettlebell class and considering she has a body that loads of girls would die for and she goes to this class a lot, I thought, yeah sure.

Usually I tend to avoid weight training classes because I’m always scared I won’t be able to keep up with other people in the class so I usually just sneak off to a quiet corner of the gym to do my weights. But I was really happy to find that this was a quiet class with only five people there today which was fantastic. I always find with smaller classes, you get loads of help from the instructors and you are able to learn better technique.

IMG_0168.JPG

It was a 45 minute class with a mixture of exercises of high and low intensity. We started off with warm up exercises like jogging on the spot and press ups which increased our heart rate. Then we started with kettlebell swings. I started off with a quite a low weight of 12kg because I didn’t know what to expect for this class. After ten minutes of swings and press ups, I was really starting to feel the effects.

IMG_0169.JPG

Throughout the sessions, we did core work and other strengthening exercises. It’s fair to say that after the 45 minutes was up, I was really aching.  I feel like I worked my butt off!

Unfortunately though, the day after my back was in severe pain. I suffer a a lot with pain in my back so if you have an injury, maybe this class isn’t for you.

I’d love to know what kind of classes you guys find most effective for your training.

7 comments

  1. I have to force myself to go to toning classes. I love cardio workouts, but struggle with weight lifting. It’s great when you can find a class that you like that gives you the toning you are looking for. Enjoy kettlebells!

    1. Usually I hate toning stuff too but I guess it has to be done. Thanks for reading 🙂

    1. Thank you so much 🙂

  2. I LOVE kettlebells! They’re just amazing and the perfect combo of strength and cardio.

    1. I did really enjoy the class but I was aching soooooo much the next day. It was ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

