How How I Met Your Mother Broke My Heart

THIS POST WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS SO IF YOU HAVEN’T FINISHED THE SERIES YET DONT READ ON.

20140718-195302-71582159.jpg

Okay so a couple of months ago I wrote a post expressing my excitement for the final series of How I Met Your Mother. I literally couldn’t wait. I’ve invested so much time in this show and it’s been one of my favourites for a long time now.

But I’m sad to say that the last episode broke my heart and not in the good ‘it’s over but it all worked out fabulously’ kind of way. No, it was a kind of sad that said, WHAT DID YOU DO TO MY SHOW???

First of all, why kill off the mother? Why? All this build up to get to the stage of meeting the mother and she dies? That seemed like such a cruel and unnecessary ending. I really liked the mother too, she seemed absolutely perfect for Ted.

But what I hated more was the fact that after she died Ted STILL had feelings for Robin. Not only does this make the mother look like sloppy seconds to Robin, but wasn’t everyone else there when Robin told Ted she didn’t feel like that about him anymore?? So why was it appropriate for that to change after his wife died? This absolutely baffled me and I really hated it.

I was so annoyed that after the romantic proposal and Robin and Barney finally got together, why an earth was a divorce written into the script? I don’t think anyone wanted to see that. They had developed the characters to be absolutely perfect for each other then snatched that away from us.

I was really happy that Lily and Marshall stayed together and led happy lives. They are One of TVs most compatible couples and it’s nice to have that as a relationship goal. I was also happy that Barney had a little girl. One thing I really didn’t want to happen was for Barney to get creepy and sleazy like Alan from Two and a Half Men.

I read online though that due to high complaints, they have released an alternate ending to the show. God I hope they keep the mother alive and then maybe I can pretend that this other ending didn’t happen. I did like a lot of the last series though. Most of it was quite sweet and true to typical How I Met Your Mother form

. 20140718-194950-71390412.jpg

4 comments

  1. I completely felt the same way as you when the finale aired. But I was determined to make peace with it, because I couldn’t possibly hate the ending of my favorite show. So after a couple months of thinking and re-watching, I found new meaning in a lot of the finale. I wrote a fairly lengthy piece about it all here – http://wildamericangooner.com/2014/07/01/making-peace-with-how-i-met-your-mother/ – and I shared it with the creator of the show, Craig Thomas, and with lead actor Josh Radnor. Both of them gave me positive reviews, despite my expressed dislike for the ending. I would suggest giving it a read, as I think it might cause you to see everything a little differently. It’s worth a shot at least.

    1. Thank you so much for you comment. I absolutely love the article you wrote and it was worth the lengthy read. It didn’t make me feel better 100% but it does help make sense of things:)

  2. littlexobsessions · · Reply

    I completely agree with you on this – a final ever episode deserved so much more than what they gave it. I still love the show though.

    1. I just wish they had taken tips from the final episode of Friends and give the audience what they want. Can you imagine if Rachel didn’t get off the plane? Good GOD

Leave a Reply

