Apps That Have Ruined My Life

So, the other night my housemates and I were sat in the living room playing on our phones (sociable as per usual) and my friend Emily told me about a game she was playing on called Flappy Bird. I have seen this game everywhere lately, on social networking sites mainly with everyone talking about it. So obviously I jumped on the bandwagon and thought oh well, what’s the harm? Oh how naive I was.

Flappy Bird

I’m not going to lie, when you first start the game it is difficult straight away. It’s not one of those games where it gives you an easy start to get you hooked. At first I thought it was too hard and couldn’t be bothered to play and get annoyed with some new game that would take up all of my spare time. I had such a whatever attitude and I think my housemate did too when she started playing it. But I kept playing cause it was a night where there was nothing on TV, I had loads of battery on my phone so I was like nothing better to do I guess. WHAT A MISTAKE THIS WAS. I now physically cannot get off this game. I woke up this morning, in a hungover state, and still managed to open this game to beat my high score. My high score is only 14. This is how hard this game is. What am I doing? Why am I, and millions of other people, finding this game so addictive?

It’s like Candy Crush all over again. Does everyone remember that? I’m thankfully out of this phase now because I reached a level that was too hard and just gave up. I’m pretty sure this was one of the best decisions I’ve made in my life. But I do know people who are still addicted and I think they can class the game as something that has now taken over their lives.

Candy-Crush-Saga

Another phase of my life was obviously Angry Birds. But in fairness, I LOVED this game. Even though it was challenging, how fun were all the levels though? And I don’t think I was ever as stuck on Angry Birds as I have been with Flappy Bird and Candy Crush. It almost broke my heart when I changed phones and lost all my progress on the app. So horrific. Lovely new phone, lost many hours of my life right there on that game. Sad, sad times.

Angry Birds

Do yourself a favour guys, don’t download these games, especially when you have other things to do. It will take up all of your time and you will never finish all your uni shit. I know most people will anyways but maybe this advice will help at least one of you delete your addiction from your life.

There’s been some discussion about the actual popularity of Flappy Bird though so take a read of this article

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/news/10615036/Flappy-Bird-too-good-to-be-true.html

One comment

  1. Hi! Loved the blog. I’ve just written a blog on trends, where I talk about the lovely app of Flappy Birds… have a look! 🙂
    http://itsjoelwood.wordpress.com/blog/

Leave a Reply

